“I never knew, but you knew; I never knew, but you knew”

Dear Heavenly Father, Sweet Loving Presence; I never knew that I would be so in love with a life filled with the Heavenly Spirit.  I never knew that I would want to spend my days, my weeks, my months in prayer and meditation more so than I would want to spend my evenings out at a club, I never knew, but you knew.  I never knew that I would be so in love with the words of God, and the God presence within me, but you knew.  You knew when I was on my own and away from you, that I would come back to the flock, you knew.

And you knew when I was out there seeking everything else to give me comfort, you knew that eventually that I would find my way back to you.  I never knew that I would be so excited about seeing Joel Osteen at the AT&T Stadium the way I was about seeing Prince at the Arco Arena.  I never knew that my Rock-stars would now be amazing Pastors and Preachers of the word of the Heavenly Spirit when I always thought my Rock-stars were going to be movie stars and singers of the R& B era.

No, I never knew but you knew, you knew eventually that I would come back to you, you knew eventually that I would see within myself that something was missing; and, what was missing and the only way that it could be replaced, filled or taken care of was to allow myself to be immersed and engulfed by the love of the Heavenly Spirit.  To see myself with a life changed, to feel within myself God’s presence, a presence of all good within me that allows me to be so far better than I could have ever been without it, but you knew.

You knew that I would learn that the word forgiveness, and the feeling that forgiveness gave me when I allowed myself to apply it, was something more sweeter than any elixir that I could ever taste on my lips but you knew.  You knew that I would find every place of employment that I had, and every place of employment that I had was somewhere closely adjacent to a church so that I would have somewhere to spend my lunches and breaks when I needed comfort and companionship.

I never knew but you knew, and when I think about the days coming ahead in my life and I think about all of the blessings that I have been given in my life that have changed me because of what I have learned thus far.  I am so grateful to be a child of God’s, I am so thankful to be considered a woman who is of faith and strong favor, and I feel extremely blessed to be able to see at any given time the goodness of you in my life. Yes, I never knew but you knew, I never thought but you thought for me, I never realized but you brought the realization to my path.

I thank you Heavenly Father for showing me all the magnificence that I have in my life now just because of me finding my way.  I thank you Lord for all the blessings I count on my hands, my fingers my toes and everywhere else that allows me to count the numerous times you have helped me change my life.  And I see my Father that even though I maybe one person, and even though I may be one light that shines out into this world.  I am a light of yours and because of that light that you shine into my heart, because of that light that you allow me to shine out into the world, because of that light that I see for myself, I say thank you God, thank you God, thank you God, for I never knew, but you knew and I’m so grateful that you did, and so it is, Amen and amen

Leave a Reply

